North Carolina’s first recipient of the Medal of Valor was honored at the General Assembly Wednesday morning for her extraordinary heroism and sacrifices as a law enforcement officer in Craven County. 

Lt. Lyndsey Moses-Winnings was recognized for her courage in standing up in the face of danger on October 1, 2021, when members of the Craven County Sheriff’s Office responded to an incident involving an involuntary commitment order. The individual revealed a handgun and opened fire, critically wounding a deputy. Moses-Winnings promptly confronted the shooter, successfully disarmed them, and prevented further harm.

Leaders from all three branches of the state government attended the ceremony, including, Speaker of the House Tim Moore, Lt. Gov. Mark Robinson, and Chief Justice Paul Newby. 

“It is with great honor and humility that I stand before you to recognize Lt. Moses-Winnings, who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in her service toward fellow citizens and community,” declared Robinson. “Her exceptional heroism and unwavering commitment merit recognition with the North Carolina Medal of Valor.”

Craven County Sheriff Chip Hughes explained that the word valor refers to the strength of mind or spirit that enables a person to encounter danger. It’s often used to describe boldness or determination in the face of great danger. 

“And these are just a few of the words that describe our lieutenant and the actions she took that evening in saving lives and putting her safety at risk,” Hughes described. “It was a very terrible situation and she really stepped up, and I’m so proud of her actions and what she did.”

Expressing gratitude on behalf of the community and state, Robinson said Lieutenant Moses-Winnings is a deserving hero to be the first recipient of the award. The award is intended to honor those who display extraordinary bravery in the face of danger and their commitment to the greater good. 

The bill that officially created the Medal of Valor award passed the General Assembly unanimously in 2023.

The program gives statewide recognition to paid and volunteer firefighters, paramedics, law enforcement officers, emergency medical services personnel, or rescue squad members. The legislation designates the award of two honorees annually, one by the Governor’s office and one by the Lt. Governor’s office.