News: Quick Takes

Incoming UNC board Chairman Smith shuffles leadership posts

UNC Board of Governors Chairman-Elect Harry Smith (Photo courtesy of the University of North Carolina System)
UNC Board of Governors Chairman-Elect Harry Smith (Photo courtesy of the University of North Carolina System)

The University of North Carolina’s governing board is shuffling its leadership.

UNC announced new committee appointments for the Board of Governors on June 27. Three of the board’s six standing committees will retain their current leaders. Committee appointments are for the 2018-2019 year and are subject to the length of the board members’ terms. 

These changes follow the unanimous election of Harry Smith as the board’s next chairman, who will officially assume the role at the board’s July meeting. Outgoing board Chairman Lou Bissette will step down then.

Smith’s background provides notable contrast to Bissette’s. An Asheville attorney, Bissette weathered turbulent waters during his time as board leader, but took a more relaxed approach in his role. Smith brings a tenacious business background to the table and is more interested in operations, UNC President Margaret Spellings said following a May 24 board meeting.

“This board is about good governance for the UNC System and greater accountability for the taxpayers of North Carolina,” said Smith. “We want to make informed decisions and identify solutions for this state — and these committee appointments are a big part of the strategy.

“I’m also looking forward to the newly created committees tackling big issues like serving our student veterans and our historically minority-serving institutions,” he said.

The  leadership appointments for the board’s six standing committees are:  

Committee on Budget and Finance

Returning chair: Temple Sloan (Board term: 2015-19)

Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs

Returning chair: Anna Nelson (Board term: 2015-19)

Committee on Personnel and Tenure

Incoming chair: Wendy Murphy (Board term: 2017-21)

Outgoing Chair: Doyle Parrish (Board term: 2017-21)

Committee on University Governance

Incoming chair: David Powers (Board term: 2015-19)

Outgoing chair: Steven Long (Board term: 2017-21)

Committee on Audit, Risk Management, and Compliance

Returning chair: James Holmes Jr. (Board term: 2015-19)

Committee on Public Affairs

Incoming Chair: Philip Byers (Board term: 2015-19)

Outgoing chair: Leo Daughtry (Board term: 2017-21)