The Russian Foreign Ministry released a list banning 963 Americans from entering Russia, including N.C.’s entire congressional delegation. In fact, President Joe Biden, Hunter Biden, Nancy Pelosi, Kamala Harris, Sen. Tillis, Sen. Burr, and every member of Congress are named on the list released May 21.

The three representatives who voted against banning Russian oil imports, Majorie Taylor Green, Matt Gaetz, and Thomas Massie were included despite their stance.

“Russia does not seek confrontation and is open to honest, mutually respectful dialogue, separating the American people, who are always respected by us, from the U.S. authorities, who incite Russophobia, and those who serve them,” the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

Ten days after the list was published, Biden announced in an op-ed in The New York Times that he will send advanced missile systems and a mass amount of weapons to Ukraine in order to give them the upper hand at the negotiation table. This statement comes only a day after Biden declared that he would not send rockets to aid Ukraine in their efforts. Although Biden is now open to supporting Ukraine with missiles, he has said that he will not send troops to directly engage Russia and does not encourage Ukraine to attack beyond their borders. 

As Russia’s invasion of Ukraine reaches its fourth month, Biden has been pressured to become more involved. Up until now, U.S. support of Ukraine has come in the form of sanctions to disrupt the Russian economy and direct financial support to Ukraine. 

“We do not want to prolong the war just to inflict pain on Russia,” Biden said, adding that he does believe Russia must face consequences, “If Russia does not pay a heavy price for its actions, it will send a message to other would-be aggressors that they too can seize territory and subjugate other countries. It will put the survival of other peaceful democracies at risk. And it could mark the end of the rules-based international order and open the door to aggression elsewhere, with catastrophic consequences the world over.”

Biden has blamed Vladamir Putin’s actions and Russia’s invasion for the economic crisis in the U.S. and around the world, particularly as inflation passes a 40 year high and gas prices nationally surpass $5 a gallon. Biden has stated that the prices are a part of the “transition” away from fossil fuels.

“We will work with our allies and partners to address the global food crisis that Russia’s aggression is worsening,” said Biden, “And we will help our European allies and others reduce their dependence on Russian fossil fuels, and speed our transition to a clean energy future.”

At the same time, increases to the Consumer Price Index and food prices have soared 9.4% year-over-year, which was above the overall inflation rate of 8.3%

“Vladimir Putin did not expect this degree of unity or the strength of our response. He was mistaken. If he expects that we will waver or fracture in the months to come, he is equally mistaken,” said Biden in the final words of his op-ed. 

Other notable names on the Russian Foreign Ministry’s list include Morgan Freeman, George Soros, and Mark Zuckerberg. Soros has been known to philanthropically support liberal causes and groups in former Soviet areas, and Freeman was added to the list after participating in a promotional video for the Committee to Investigate Russia.

Hillary Clinton, U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken, Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg, and the late Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz, are also on the banned list. However, former presidents Donald Trump, Barack Obama and George W. Bush are not.