News: Quick Takes

Cooper picks two more for state Transportation Board

CJ file photo
CJ file photo

Gov. Roy Cooper went to opposite ends of the state to select two nominees to serve on the North Carolina Department of Transportation Board.

William “Billy” Clarke of Buncombe County, and Douglas “Allen” Moran of Dare County were announced Monday afternoon as Cooper’s latest two picks.

“I believe these new members will work well with the board to help us improve transportation in North Carolina, and I appreciate their willingness to serve,” Cooper said.

The Transportation Board represents statewide transportation needs and oversees the North Carolina Highway Trust Fund, which was created by the General Assembly to fund new road construction efforts.

New appointees will begin serving their four-year terms after a 30-day comment period.

Clarke has nearly 30 years of experience in environmental law. He has represented local governments and private clients. A native of western North Carolina, Clarke has been named to multiple lists of top lawyers. He holds degrees from Princeton and the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Law.

Moran is a captain in the Dare County Sheriff’s Office. He manages the county’s detention center, which has 50 employees and a $4 million budget. A Dare County native, he also serves as vice chairman of the Roanoke Island Community Center Board.

Cooper named 10 other nominees last month. The board has 19 total members. Each member represents a specific transportation district or an at-large position, working with DOT employees to decide transportation priorities.

Dan E. Way (@danway_carolina) is an associate editor of Carolina Journal.