On Thursday, the day after a Senate panel on judicial reform discussed alternatives to judicial elections and possible changes in judicial districts, the leaders of the Senate and House agreed to create a joint legislative panel to address the issues.

In a statement from the office of Senate leader Phil Berger, R-Rockingham, Berger and House Speaker Tim Moore, R-Cleveland, announced the formation of the Joint Select Committee on Judicial Reform and Redistricting. Berger said:

I’m proud of the work that senators from both parties serving on the Senate Select Committee on Judicial Reform and Redistricting performed during their roughly 20 hours of committee hearings, expert testimony, and robust debate. While judicial reform is a complex and challenging issue and the process has occasionally been contentious, I’m pleased with the committee’s progress and its unanimous vote to move this discussion to the next step. As the bipartisan joint committee evaluates how best to modernize and strengthen North Carolina’s judiciary — including judicial redistricting plans, merit selection models and other reforms — I hope it finds and brings forward a consensus recommendation that all North Carolinians can support.

In a separate statement, Moore said:

This joint committee is an important step in our comprehensive legislative process to reaffirm the rights of North Carolinians who deserve balanced representation, an equal voice and full confidence in their justice system.

The Senate co-chairs are Sens. Dan Bishop, R-Mecklenburg; Warren Daniel, R-Burke; and Bill Rabon, R-Brunswick.

The other Senate members:

Republicans Dan Barrett (Davie); Chuck Edwards (Henderson); Ralph Hise (Mitchell); Wesley Meredith (Cumberland); Paul Newton (Cabarrus); Shirley Randleman (Wilkes); and Norm Sanderson (Pamlico).

Democrats Dan Blue (Wake): Jay Chaudhuri (Wake); Joel Ford (Mecklenburg); Floyd McKissick (Durham); and Terry Van Duyn (Buncombe).

The House co-chairs are Reps. Justin Burr, R-Stanly; David Lewis, R-Harnett; and Hugh Blackwell, R-Burke.

The other House members:

Republicans John Blust (Guilford); Ted Davis (New Hanover); Holly Grange (New Hanover); Destin Hall (Caldwell); Jonathan Jordan (Ashe); David Rogers (Burke); and Sarah Stevens (Surry).

Democrats Duane Hall (Wake); Darren Jackson (Wake); Joe John (Wake); Robert Reives (Lee); and Billy Richardson (Cumberland).