The General Assembly’s newly created subcommittees to investigate the pace of spending on recovery efforts for Hurricane Matthew and the unusual side fund negotiated by the Cooper administration with the operation of the Atlantic Coast Pipeline are complete.

In a Thursday, Sept. 6, press release, from the office of House Speaker Tim Moore, R-Cleveland, said:

“Both joint subcommittees were formed after months of unsuccessful inquiries by legislators and the press to Governor [Roy] Cooper’s administration about hurricane relief delays and allegations of a pay-to-play permit fund related to approval of the Atlantic Coast Pipeline.”

Moore also announced the members from his chamber who would sit on the two investigative bodies.

Members of the Matthew recovery subcommittee are: Rep. John Bell, R-Wayne, co-chair; Rep. Nelson Dollar, R-Wake; Rep. William Brisson, R-Bladen; Rep. Darren Jackson, D-Wake; Rep. Elmer Floyd, D-Cumberland; and Rep. Brendan Jones, R-Columbus, advisory member.

Members of the ACP subcommittee are: Rep. Dean Arp, R-Union, co-chair; Rep. John Torbett, R-Gaston; Rep. Pat McElraft, R-Carteret; Rep. Becky Carney, D-Mecklenburg; Rep. Ken Goodman, D-Richmond, and Rep. Jon Hardister, R-Guilford, advisory member.

The subcommittees will have the authority to subpoena documents and compel testimony.

Senate leader Phil Berger, R-Rockingham, announced senators who will serve on the subcommittees earlier.