With greater than 75% of the vote, North Carolina House Speaker Tim Moore wins the Republican primary contest for Congressional District 14.

“Tim has served North Carolina families in the state legislature for 12 years and the Speaker of the state House for 9 years,” said National Republican Congressional Committee Spokeswoman Delanie Nomar. “North Carolina voters will overwhelmingly send Tim to Congress in November.”

When Moore entered the primary race, he joined the 2022 CD-14 Republican nominee Pat Harrigan in that race. Harrigan subsequently left that race and declared for Congressional District 10, where incumbent Congressman Patrick McHenry is retiring, making for an easy path to victory for North Carolina’s longest-serving Speaker of the House.

Currently represented by Democrat Congressman Jeff Jackson, who is running for state attorney general, the election map for CD-14 changed during recent redistricting. Jackson declined to run for re-election in the newly-drawn seat.

Former President Donald Trump won the newly drawn district by 16% in 2020, according to the NRCC. As such, Moore is presumed to win the congressional seat in November, one among many potential flips from Democrat to Republican under new districts. Trump endorsed Moore in the primary.

Moore announced in July that he would not seek re-election to the North Carolina House of Representatives after serving as NC House Speaker for a record five terms. During that tenure, the Republican majority passed historic tax cuts and regulation reduction legislation, helping to catapult the state in national economic rankings for growth and business friendliness.